John E. Robson Scholarship for CSB Students Interested in Public Policy and/or Social Change

Scholarship Purpose:

The John E. Robson Scholarship for Students of Public Policy was established in 2002 by Margaret Zuehlke Robson in memory of her husband, John. John’s life was a model of personal political engagement—the cornerstone of citizenship. Having served under four Presidents of the United States and having been enmeshed in many aspects of public policy, this scholarship serves as a legacy of John’s life’s work. It is hoped this scholarship will continue to inspire students at the College of Saint Benedict to become involved in public policy in order to produce societal change. 

Scholarship Criteria:

Eligible applicants must be current College of Saint Benedict sophomores or juniors majoring in economics, sociology, or political science. Scholarship recipients will be selected based on the following:      

  1. Engagement in policy issues, domestic or international, and in political activities through research, internships, jobs, volunteering, and campus activities.
  2. Passion and dedication to making social change.

For additional information on this scholarship contact Dr. Matt Lindstrom, Director of the McCarthy Center.

Scholarship Amount:

The Selection Committee will award scholarships each year, valuing up to $5,000 per scholarship. The scholarship is for one year. Previous recipients of the Robson Scholarship may re-apply for one additional year but will need to submit a new application form.

Application Deadline: 

Applications for the 2024-2025 Robson Scholarship are due 5 pm, Monday, April 8, 2024.